Skip to content

Blog / Operations in practice

Workato alternatives with more predictable pricing, compared

Six Workato alternatives compared on billing alone: what you pay for, what makes it move, whether you can cap it, and what happens when you go over.

Adam White avatar

Adam White

Editor-in-Chief

The most predictable integration bill is one where you know what you’re charged for, can see usage as it grows, can cap it, and know what happens when you go over. Published prices help. n8n, Make, Zapier, Microsoft Power Automate, and Boomi’s Pay-As-You-Go plan all publish a starting price, but a published per-task or per-credit rate can still produce a bill that jumps when a loop meets more data. Tray.ai takes the other route: its iPaaS plans are quoted, then fixed for the year, with no per-user or per-connection fees and retries not charged. Which is more predictable for you depends on why the Workato bill surprised you.

Most teams start looking at alternatives after a specific surprise. A renewal quote moved. Pro credits expired unused one month and ran out the next. Agent work started and turned out to need a different edition. Each of those points to a different kind of billing, so this list compares platforms on billing alone. For a comparison on fit, features, and hosting, see the full list of Workato alternatives.

What makes a bill predictable

Four tests decide it, and a fifth is useful.

  1. You know what you’re billed on. Users, connections, executions, steps, or credits, and what counts as one.
  2. You can see usage as it grows, in a dashboard, before the invoice.
  3. You can cap it, so a runaway workflow stops rather than billing.
  4. You know what happens when you go over: an overage rate, a pause, an automatic upgrade, or a true-up.
  5. The price is published. Useful for a first estimate, though it doesn’t settle the other four.

For comparison, Workato bills a quoted edition plus usage in credits. Its self-service Pro plan publishes prices from $75 a month for 2,500 credits, and unused Pro credits expire each month.1 How Workato pricing works covers the rest.

At a glance

Platform Billed on Published starting price Can you cap it? When you go over Best for
Tray.ai Platform plan plus Tasks Tray Helix Builder Edition from $50 a month; iPaaS plans quoted Monthly limits you set Settled at a true-up Enterprise integration and agents on one fixed annual contract
n8n Workflow executions, any number of steps Starter from €20 a month, billed annually Overage fees capped on Starter and Pro Workflows keep running; overage may apply on Business and Enterprise Technical teams with long, multi-step workflows
Make Credits, one for most actions Free plan with 1,000 credits a month Scenarios stop when credits run out Buy extra credits at a fixed price, or auto-purchase Visual building with a hard stop on spend
Zapier Tasks, one per successful action Professional listed from $19.99 a month Turn off pay-per-task billing and Zaps pause at the limit Pay-per-task at a higher rate, then a pause at the maximum A fast start and the largest app catalog on this list
Microsoft Power Automate Per user, or per bot Premium $15 per user a month, paid yearly Licenses fix the cost, within service limits Service limits rather than overage Organizations standardized on Microsoft
Boomi Pay-As-You-Go Monthly platform fee plus usage $99 a month plus usage Not stated on Boomi's pricing page Not stated on Boomi's pricing page Teams that want Boomi without a contract

Prices and terms from each vendor’s own pricing page, read 28 October 2026.2,3,4,5,6,7

Fixed annual contract

Tray.ai

Best for: teams moving enterprise integration, automation, and AI agents off Workato who want a cost they know at signing.

Tray iPaaS is a platform plan plus usage in Tasks. You commit to an annual volume for a fixed annual cost, and if usage grows past your plan, the difference is settled at a true-up, with larger volumes getting preferential pricing.2

How the bill moves. A Task is one operation on a piece of your data: the trigger firing, each connector or service step, and each pass through a loop or boolean. A connector step that makes several API calls is still one Task, and retries aren’t charged. Integrations, automations, MCP tools, and agents all use Tasks.2

What’s predictable. There are no per-user or per-connection fees, so adding people or systems doesn’t change the price. Usage dashboards show Task usage, you can set monthly limits, and the free 30-day trial, with no card and no sales call, lets you size the plan on your own workflows before you commit.2

What isn’t. Usage still tracks the work, so a loop over a much larger data set uses more Tasks, which shows at the true-up.

Trade-offs: Tray’s iPaaS plans are quoted rather than listed, so getting a number takes a conversation. Tray Helix Builder Edition, for taking AI-built apps and integrations to production, starts at $50 a month.2

Published usage plans

n8n

Best for: technical teams with long, multi-step workflows, and teams that want the option to self-host.

n8n bills per workflow execution, however many steps the workflow has. Starter is €20 a month billed annually for 2,500 executions, Pro is €50 a month for 10,000, and Business is €667 a month for 40,000 and is self-hosted only. Enterprise is quoted.3

What’s predictable. A long workflow costs the same per run as a short one, and overage fees are capped on Starter and Pro. Execution counts show in n8n’s insights dashboard.3

What isn’t. Frequent triggers. A workflow that polls every five minutes runs about 8,600 to 8,900 times a month, by n8n’s own example. On Business and Enterprise, workflows keep running past the quota, and overage charges may apply unless you move up a tier.3

Trade-offs: n8n also offers a self-hosted Community Edition, which shifts hosting, patching, and security to your team.3 Concurrency and maximum execution time vary by plan.

Make

Best for: teams that want visual building and a hard stop when credits run out.

Make bills in credits. Most actions a module performs consume one credit, and some features that use Make’s AI provider consume more. Router and error-handler modules don’t consume credits. The free plan includes 1,000 credits a month.4

What’s predictable. When credits run out, scenarios stop rather than run up a bill. Incoming webhooks queue up to your plan’s limit and process once credits are added.4

What isn’t. A single scenario run can consume anything from two credits to thousands, depending on the data. Credits expire at the end of the term, and extra credits bought mid-term expire after a month on a monthly plan or at the end of the year on an annual one.4

Trade-offs: running out stops your automations, so the cap that protects the budget can also stop a business process. You can buy extra credits in bundles at a fixed price or turn on auto-purchase on Core, Pro, and Teams.4

Zapier

Best for: teams that want a fast start and the largest app catalog on this list, at 9,000+ apps by Zapier’s count.

Zapier bills per task, with each successful action counting and failed actions not counted. Zapier lists Professional from $19.99 a month, task tiers run from 100 to 2 million a month with custom limits above that, and yearly billing saves 33%. AI steps, code steps, and the SDK all use the same task model.5

What’s predictable. Checking for new data doesn’t use tasks, so polling triggers cost nothing until they act. Zapier emails you as you approach your task limit and when you reach it. If you turn pay-per-task billing off, Zaps pause at the limit until the next period.5

What isn’t. With pay-per-task billing on, extra tasks are charged at a higher rate than your plan’s tasks until you hit your maximum, and then Zaps pause. Multi-step Zaps at high volume add up quickly.5

Trade-offs: per-task billing tracks volume closely, which is fair and also means the bill moves with every additional step.

Microsoft Power Automate

Best for: organizations already standardized on Microsoft 365, Azure, and Copilot Studio.

Power Automate is licensed per user or per bot. Premium is $15 per user a month, paid yearly. Process, for unattended automation, is $150 per bot a month, paid yearly, and Hosted Process is $215.6

What’s predictable. Licenses fix the cost regardless of how many flows each user runs, within Microsoft’s service limits.6

What isn’t. Headcount. Cost grows as more people build, and agents built in Copilot Studio are priced separately.6

Trade-offs: the full Microsoft integration story spans several products with their own licensing, so check which ones your workloads need.

Published platform plan plus usage

Boomi Pay-As-You-Go

Best for: teams that want Boomi’s platform without a contract.

Boomi’s Pay-As-You-Go plan is $99 a month plus usage, billed monthly, with no contract and sign-up by credit card. Its enterprise editions are quoted.7

What’s predictable. No commitment and a published platform fee.

What isn’t. Boomi’s pricing page doesn’t list the usage rates on top of the $99, so the variable part needs a conversation or a trial to estimate.7

Trade-offs: Boomi’s enterprise editions are quoted, so a larger estate is priced in a conversation rather than from the published plan.

How to choose by what surprised you

  • Credits expired unused one month and ran out the next. Look for an annual commitment with a true-up, such as Tray.ai, or a plan where the unit tracks runs rather than steps, such as n8n.
  • The renewal quote jumped. Look for a cost fixed at signing, and ask every vendor for years one to three in writing.
  • Cost grew with headcount. Avoid per-user licensing unless your builder count is stable.
  • Agent usage was hard to forecast. Check whether agent work is billed in the same unit as everything else, and whether one agent’s calls to another are counted separately.

Which Workato alternatives have the most predictable pricing?

If predictable means a cost you know at signing, Tray.ai’s fixed annual contract, with no per-user or per-connection fees, retries not charged, and monthly limits, is built for it. If it means a published price you can check today, n8n, Make, Zapier, and Microsoft Power Automate publish theirs. n8n’s per-execution model is the most forgiving of long workflows, and Power Automate’s per-user model is the steadiest when headcount is stable. Whichever you choose, run your own workflows in a trial before you trust any estimate, including ours.

Before you switch over price

Price is a good reason to look and a risky reason to move on its own. Migration takes time, and for a while you’ll run two platforms. Weigh the saving against both, check the platform fits your workloads, and see how to choose between Tray.ai and Workato if that’s your shortlist. How to forecast what an integration platform will cost as you grow has the method for comparing quotes.

Sources

  1. Workato documentation, Self-service (Workato Free and Workato Pro) billing, read 28 October 2026: https://docs.workato.com/en/pricing/self-service/self-service
  2. Tray.ai, pricing: https://tray.ai/pricing/
  3. n8n, pricing, read 28 October 2026: https://n8n.io/pricing/
  4. Make, pricing, read 28 October 2026: https://www.make.com/pricing
  5. Zapier, pricing, read 28 October 2026: https://zapier.com/pricing
  6. Microsoft, Power Automate pricing, read 28 October 2026: https://www.microsoft.com/en-us/power-platform/products/power-automate/pricing
  7. Boomi, pricing, read 28 October 2026: https://boomi.com/pricing/

Frequently asked questions

Which Workato alternatives have the most predictable pricing?

+

For a cost fixed at signing, Tray.ai's annual contract has no per-user or per-connection fees, doesn't charge retries, and settles growth at a true-up. For published prices, n8n, Make, Zapier, and Microsoft Power Automate publish theirs. n8n's per-execution model suits long workflows, and Power Automate's per-user licensing suits stable headcount.

Is Tray.ai pricing predictable?

+

Yes, by design. You commit to an annual volume for a fixed annual cost, there are no per-user or per-connection fees, retries aren't charged, and usage dashboards and monthly limits let you see and cap usage. Growth past your plan is settled at a true-up. Tray's iPaaS plans are quoted rather than listed.

Which Workato alternatives publish their prices?

+

n8n, Make, Zapier, Microsoft Power Automate, and Boomi's Pay-As-You-Go plan publish starting prices. Tray.ai publishes a starting price of $50 a month for Tray Helix Builder Edition, and quotes its iPaaS plans. Workato publishes its self-service Pro plan and quotes its editions.

Is per-execution pricing more predictable than per-task pricing?

+

For long workflows, usually. Per-execution pricing charges the same for a run however many steps it has, so it doesn't grow when a workflow gets longer. It still grows with how often workflows run, so frequent schedules and polling triggers matter more under it.

What should we check before leaving Workato over price?

+

Count what you run today, run your busiest workflows in each alternative's trial, ask every vendor for years one to three in writing against your projected volume, and add the cost of migrating and of running two platforms for a while.